Welcome Guest

     Home  Site Map  Help

Citadel of Sidon Today
Citadel of Sidon - As It Appeared on Year 1810. It was built by the Crusaders in the early 13th century.  
Painting Of The Citadel of Sidon  

                                   Khan El Franj

Sidon Khan El Franj

The khan el Franj is one of the many khans or caravansaries built by Fakhreddine II for merchants and goods. This is a typical khan with a large rectangular courtyard and a central fountain surrounded by covered galleries. The center of economic activity for the city in the 19th century, the khan also housed the French consulate. Today it is being renovated to serve as Sidon’s cultural center.

Khan El Franj

Not far from the Sea Castle, a short distance from the wharf, is the picturesque old vaulted souk of Sidon which dates back to an age when most inhabitants dwelt in the area between the city walls and the harbor and Khan el Franj, one of the many khans built by Fakhreddine ll during his reign to accommodate merchants and goods.

Here as elsewhere the khan was traditionally a large rectangular courtyard with a central fountain, surrounded by covered galleries.

Entrance to the khan is through a small postern cut in the nail-studded main gate. Beyond is a cloistered court around which were the shops and dwelling places for traders. The khan (from the Persian word for "inn") was the center of economic activity for the city.

Later, in the 19th Century, Sidon's khan housed the French consulate, a school, a convent, an inn and a small museum displaying local artifacts. The terrace affords a clear view of the harbor and the Sea Castle.





Information From the Ministry of Tourism

Lebanese Ministry of Tourism

Top of Page
2005 - 2009 Saidon Home Page. All rights reserved.
Bsharre Town
  Home  About Us  Contact Us  Help                                                                                                                              Copyright NetMotif. All Rights Reserved.